30-Day Writing Challenge: Day 21

Prompt: Your zodiac/horoscope and whether you think it fits you.

I’m a Cancer though my birthday falls on the cusp of Gemini/Cancer. Some horoscopes include me in Gemini but I always choose Cancer.

Here’s one short description of Cancerian traits I found:

Strengths: Tenacious, highly imaginative, loyal, emotional, sympathetic, persuasive.

I think most of those are true. I’m not sure about persuasive but I’d agree with the rest.

Weaknesses: Moody, pessimistic, suspicious, manipulative, insecure.

Good grief. Manipulative is the one I’d most disagree with. I don’t think I’m smart enough in that way to manipulate someone. I think persuasive and manipulative are two sides of a salesman’s coin and I’m not a salesman. The rest, yes. I’m much less pessimistic than I used to be. And moody? I think that’s someone’s interpretation of my reticence. I think a lot and don’t always say aloud what I’m thinking (because I’m insecure, maybe) and perhaps others see that as moody. I don’t know.

Cancer likes: Art, home-based hobbies, relaxing near or in water, helping loved ones, a good meal with friends.

Yes, all true.

Cancer dislikes: Strangers, any criticism of Mom, revealing of personal life.

Ha. I’d change that second one to “criticism FROM Mom”. I don’t mind revealing my personal life but it all depends on the audience. Strangers – trust issues. Yes. That’s a much harder thing to fix. Vulnerability plays into all this. I’m a work in progress. We all are.

I’ve gotten singed by relationships in the past, 3rd degree burns from others, but luckily I’m a crab. I can go back in my shell for awhile and lick my wounds. Come back out when I’m ready.

 

Leave a Reply

