30-Day Writing Challenge: Day 17

Prompt: A quote you try to live by.

I don’t usually put much stock in quotes or religion, but I do believe in “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” From the Bible. It reminds me of a phrase in the Lord’s Prayer that said something to the effect of “forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us.” That’s the Episcopal version. It’s been decades since I’ve been to church but this stuck with me. I can still recite the whole thing.

It seems to me, especially in light of all the horror and hate people inflict on others these days, that if we could simply live by this saying, we’d all be much better off. From merely standing in line at the coffee shop, quietly waiting our turn, to ideological differences that lead to death and mayhem.

It’s been a sad couple of days. Not just in the world at large but right here in my tiny universe. I said goodbye to a pet. A co-worker is losing her battle against cancer. A girl in Dusty’s Girl Scout troop is probably losing hers as well and just turned 14. These are things we have no control over but we can make the world a better place to live in if we treat each other with more kindness.

Why do we want to turn away refugees? They aren’t the problem. Their enemies are ours. Why do we decide to hate people based on religion, skin color, gender, sexual orientation, race, creed, etc.? What if we looked at those around us with a love we’d extend to our children, our pets, a free slice of apple pie? Whatever you love – even if you don’t love yourself (and I’ll be the first to admit I’m not particularly loving myself right now) – consider how you’d like to be treated by strangers and treat them that way. Lord knows, it isn’t easy. At all.

Smile, say thank you, say after you, say no no you were here first (even if they weren’t). Yield. Bend. Give in. Deliver us from evil. Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

