30-Day Writing Challenge: Day 15

Prompt: Three pet peeves.

Well, I suffer from misophonia, a hatred of sound. But not most sounds. Just those random, repetitive noises that I cannot control. I love music but I hate sitting in waiting rooms with televisions on. I cannot tune out the chatter. My dentist knows me well and they mute the tv in the exam room. I do not know why they feel they need to have tvs in those rooms. Distraction? There are too many distracting screens in this world these days.

I love the sounds insects make, especially cicadas, but that booming bass that wafts out of open car windows, I do not.

I wish I wasn’t like this and it’s gotten worse as I’ve gotten older – it’s one big reason I could probably never live happily in the city or a suburb – but there are a few sounds that make me grind my teeth.

  1. Whistling. That old guy wandering the grocery store aisles who is tunelessly whistling? I can’t stand it. I have actually fled the store when I’ve been unable to evade it.
  2. Leaf blowers. Hell’s tool. There is absolutely nothing good about them and the noise they produce drives me crazy.
  3. Sniffling, open mouthed chewing, gum chewing, etc. All those noises people make because they just are people. They don’t do them to be annoying which makes it impossible to tell them to stop. I once worked with a very nice person who sniffed all day long without cease. It was all I could do to tell her about this wondrous thing called zyrtec. Or to give her a box of tissues. I don’t know if it bothered anyone else but no one but me worked across from her. I began to wear ear plugs all day. Or I’d put in earbuds and listen to a website that is just the sound of rain and thunderstorms. I couldn’t mention it or complain because I would be considered the crazy one. And maybe I am. But it doesn’t make the problem go away.

I can’t spend my life with ear plugs in. I’d miss all the good sounds.

2 thoughts on “30-Day Writing Challenge: Day 15

  1. I used to sit in an office with a woman who had a terrible case of postnasal drip and harrumphed and cleared her throat all day. Retirement has been wonderful, my house is so quiet…

Leave a Reply

