30-Day Writing Challenge: Day 11

Prompt: Your current relationship; if single, discuss that too.

Hmmm. I am not currently in a relationship. Divorced = single with baggage and debt. Single that’s been around the block a number of times. So many times that shops on that block have changed hands more than twice. So many times that I’ve lost track of the “for sale” signs in front of the houses.

I’ve been a “single mother” for two years and it has mostly been a good state for me. I am never bored and almost always busy. I do not mind sleeping alone. I’ve been doing that for more than 10 years. I’m used to it. I kind of prefer it.

My singleness has allowed me the freedom to figure out what went wrong with my life, who I am, what I want to do with myself, where I want to go from here. It also allowed me to fix up my kitchen, paint my house, throw tons of shit away, reorganize and be comfortable in my skin for once. Until recently, I hadn’t spent much of my adulthood alone.

And, if you want to be technical, I’m mostly not alone anyway because the children are here most of the time. But I otherwise answer to no one. And it’s nice. It’s nice to come home and be happy. It’s nice that home is a refuge. It wasn’t always that way.

So, if I become unsingle in the future, it’ll be on different terms.

Leave a Reply

