30-Day Writing Challenge: Day 8

Prompt: A book you loved and one you didn’t.

  1. Loved: Fun Home by Alison Bechdel. I am not a huge fan of graphic novels and comics, usually. My eye has trouble figuring out where to look next. In what order are the balloons? The panel? How should I read this? But I didn’t have that problem with this one and the storytelling made that issue moot. I love memoirs, especially one in which grown children grapple with their parents; heal themselves by discovering who their parents are, why they acted the way they did; accept themselves and figure out how to forgive. Fun Home was  that and more and was so….the subtitle is “A family tragicomiDc” and that pretty much sums it up. Bechdel is wonderful and this book is a gem.
  2. Didn’t: The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery. I tried to read this twice. The second time, I got as far as page 36 before I reminded myself that life is short. I no longer have to finish reading a book just because I’ve added it to Goodreads (I actually have a category called ‘gave up’ to keep track of books I tried and failed to finish). I hated all the mean, sarcastic, pretentious characters who felt morally and intellectually superior to everyone else. I imagine they change eventually but I couldn’t care enough to read that far. I don’t care about snooty Parisians and their existential woes. I want a good story. I like broken heroes. I had to give this book up.
2 thoughts on “30-Day Writing Challenge: Day 8

  1. I’ll play on this one. Loved The Passage (Justin Cronin), hated Seveneves (Neal Stephenson) so much that I got 96% of the way through the +/- 1k pages and stopped. Hated it.

Leave a Reply

