30-Day Writing Challenge: Day 6

Prompt: Someone who fascinates you and why.

Miley Cyrus. I know. I surprise myself. I had never really given her much thought before apart from some of her near-naked stunts and crazy outfits (and whatever she was doing with her tongue….she can stop doing that). But I saw Miley on SNL recently, and I decided that I actually like her. I think she’s actually smarter than she appears to be or allows us to think she is. I follow her on Instagram now and she seems silly in her faux-ghetto way but I think a lot of that is just her age. I think a lot of it is just social media theatre and being a celebrity at a young age never really having a “normal” life – one like you and me.

She’s got an amazing voice and clearly composes decent songs (I don’t have to love them to tell the difference between a bad song and a good one) and is a talented actress as well. She’s a modern day feminist. I think this is what it looks like now. I think she’s kind of a bad ass in that she does whatever the hell she wants and doesn’t give a good goddamn what anyone thinks. She’s like Lady Gaga with actual talent. She’s this generation’s Madonna or Cher. If I have to compare her to anyone.

Look at how she’s reinvented herself from a Disney show actress to a pop star without (as far as I can tell) a horrible drug addiction or a series of dreadful significant others (she apparently claims to be pansexual which kind of makes me like her even more). She’s only 22 and has released 5 albums. Just like One Direction except she had already had a child star career before that. Her dad is a country music star and she’s successfully removed herself from that world which includes a very Southern Baptist background.

You gotta give her a high-five for reinvention. I don’t like everything she does or wears but it doesn’t matter. She doesn’t care. I’m old enough to be her mother and she’s out there doing whatever she needs to do to get wherever she’s going to go. And she’s got the talent to do it. Say what you will about her, she’s got an amazing set of pipes. I’m curious to see what she becomes.

Even Dolly Parton, her godmother, agrees with me. She’s quoted as having said, “…the girl can write. The girl can sing. The girl is smart. And she doesn’t have to be so drastic. But I will respect her choices. I did it my way, so why can’t she do it her way?”

One thought on “30-Day Writing Challenge: Day 6

  1. I’m with you. I find her intriguing and yes, she does have a hella good set of pipes. Have you heard her backyard series where she’s singing/playing outside? Amazing.

Leave a Reply

