Solstice

So far, our winter break has been restorative and lovely. The girls made cookies this afternoon and we’ve slept in, had dinner at their grandfather’s, watched One Direction on SNL, seen Annie, lolled around, relaxed….you get the idea.

I’ve been reading a lot. Sitting and reading with a cat on my lap. And I’m up to Week 8 in The Artists Way. I’ve suddenly started paying attention to the quotes in the margins and circled those that are speaking to me right now. The photos in this post are from my Silent Ember Day last week. I never get tired of walking in the woods.

Learn to get in touch with the silence within yourself and know that everything in this life has a purpose.

ember1

Genuine beginnings begin within us, even when they are brought to our attention by external opportunities.

ember3

You will do foolish things, but do them with enthusiasm.

ember5

Trust in yourself. Your perceptions are often far more accurate than you are willing to believe.

ember8

When an inner situation is not made conscious, it appears outside at fate.

ember7

Surround yourself with people who respect and treat you well.

ember11

2015 will be the year, I hope, that I’m more adept and aware of who I surround myself with. Those who treat me well and respect me. Those I respect and treat well. The giving and taking that is as equal as it can be, considering how unequal and unbalanced our lives can be at any given moment. I’ve been incredibly blessed this year by friends and family who have held out a hand when I needed one, pulled me up from the bottom of a well when I fell down one, and just were there at the right moment, without judgment. 2014 was a trial. 2015 will be better.

One thought on “Solstice

Leave a Reply

